Preparing for a birthday on my birthday

Published March 4, 2014 by The Hip Grandmother

The time inches nearer and nearer! In the next week…or next few days I could have my granddaughter in my arms. The thought of my baby girl having a baby girl is so mind-blowing. And it is actually becoming more real. Last weekend we decided to get some of her laundry done. I remember holding up the Onsies and commenting on how adorable a little body will fit in them. The little socks and bibs. Or even the receiving blankets. Her little head will be covered with the cutest little pink and white hats that my daughter received at the baby shower. This child will have an assortment of nice, warm and comfortable things to wear.

 As my daughter was finishing some online college work due on friday, I have been in the kitchen cleaning and sterilizing the bottles and pacifiers. My bestie gave her a microwavable sterilizing kit and boy does it work wonders! When my child was little, her father and I had bought a sterilizing Victoria's bottleskit that cost in the neighborhood of $75-$100. It worked wonders as well but the price was outrageous! Thank goodness you can get a kit for around $10 at your local Target (from what I have seen) or you can clean the bottles, fill them halfway with water, get a microwavable bowl, fill it with water (about 7 oz) and throw in the nipples, rings and tops. I must say I have learned a little bit more about sterilization on my second time around. This generation has all the cool gadgets.

 Finally we set up the crib. My bestie was here helping us put it together. It is a beautiful dark cherry wood-finished convertible crib which is from my family. See, this is what we normally do. Victoria will be the second baby that sleeps in this crib. The first? My beautiful nephew Cayden. Not only are they a few years apart but they will grow up together and hopefully have the same friends. This is my sister’s and my hope. The theme of her nursery will be ‘Ladybugs’. As I am putting the decals on the walls, I can’t help but chuckle that my daughter has always been ‘my ladybug’ because of (from what I believe) is good luck. I also learned that ladybugs are some of the few insects the Native Americans watched before the winter. They could tell if it was going to be a harsh winter or a weak one. (Just another one of the many meteorological stories I have Victoria's cribheard).

 Yes, as I said before, today is my birthday. My 43rd birthday to be exact. Usually on this day, there is absolutely nothing going on. I mean, I am glad nothing out-of-the-ordinary goes on during this day. Shoot. This day is so mundane that I have found not many famous people share my birthday…probably since about 1678. Its ok. So I am not sharing a birthday with my granddaughter. But I will share our birthstone and zodiac sign. Things will work out just fine.

 Until then, we wait.

17 comments on “Preparing for a birthday on my birthday

  • Happy birthday! How wonderful to have found you (and thank you for the follow.) I turned 43 last week, and my post today will be about how my “baby” is still in her crib. Such a lovely intersection, our two lives. Good luck in the days ahead.

    • But you are mommy to two dogs and three cats. That, to me, is what life is about: loving our family members. I have a feline who has a blog as well. Reflectionsofashaddow.wordpress.com if you want to take a gander! I would love to post your babies on that site as well! 🙂

  • Whеn sοmeone writes aaո post hе/she keeρs
    thhe thougɦt of ɑ user in hiѕ/her mind that how а user can knօw іt.

    Thеrefore tҺat’s why this article іs amazing. Ƭhanks!

  • Leave a Reply

        Tribe of Travelers

    We Wander Together

    Buffalo Tom Peabody's blog 2

    The 9 Lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody, Gunther Tootie, Ignatius “IGGY” Rattlebottom-Bunn, Larry "Bubba" Flowers & Doodlesack. NO AWARDS. please.

    Logical Quotes

    There's a hip grandparent in all of us!

    Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

    However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

    Alice@97.3

    Alice Music for the San Francisco Bay Area

    CBS Denver

    Find Denver news, Colorado news, Colorado weather forecasts and sports reports including Denver Broncos at CBSDenver.com.

    CBS Sacramento

    News, Sports, Weather, Traffic and the Best of Sacramento

    CBS Chicago

    Chicago News, Sports, Weather, Traffic, and the Best of Chicago - CBS 2 TV | WBBM Newsradio 780 | 670 The Score

    CBS San Francisco

    News, Sports, Weather, Traffic and the Best of SF

    NBA.com | Hang Time Blog

    The official news blog of NBA.com with commentary and analysis from NBA.com's staff of writers.

    ultimatemindsettoday

    A great WordPress.com site

    terribleminds: chuck wendig

    Chuck Wendig: Freelance Penmonkey

    The Meat & Potatoes of Life

    By Lisa Smith Molinari

    Attila Ovari

    Loving Life and Inspiring Others

    CBS Chicago

    Chicago News, Sports, Weather, Traffic, and the Best of Chicago - CBS 2 TV | WBBM Newsradio 780 | 670 The Score

    Are You Finished Yet?

    There's a hip grandparent in all of us!

    Scribbles & Crumbs

    Hope. Kindness. Faith. Love

    Alice@97.3

    Alice Music for the San Francisco Bay Area

    CBS San Francisco

    News, Sports, Weather, Traffic and the Best of SF

    CBS Sacramento

    News, Sports, Weather, Traffic and the Best of Sacramento

    CBS Denver

    Find Denver news, Colorado news, Colorado weather forecasts and sports reports including Denver Broncos at CBSDenver.com.

    The Hip Grandmother

    There's a hip grandparent in all of us!

    By the Blood of the Lamb

    And they overcame him by the blood of the Lamb...

    The Research Whisperer

    Just like the Thesis Whisperer - but with more money

    News Top-Aktuell

    Wenn Sie Wahrheit zu schätzen wissen

    Dancing Aspens Farm Blog

    Finding the beauty along the way.

    INNER THOUGHTS

    INNER THOUGHTS

    Broken Pieces

    "Is not My Word like as a fire? saith the LORD; and like a hammer that breaketh the rock in pieces?" Jeremiah 23:29

    365 Days of Purpleness

    A little piece of purpleness to brighten every day!

    Thom Ingram

    Poet, Essayist, Contemplative, Teacher

    Fran Wilde

    ~ science fiction & fantasy ~

    three rows back

    because you can never watch too many movies

    The Tragic Life of Frank

    Around five minutes ago I had this sudden revelation; that my life is quite sufficiently, tragic.

    wherelemonsblossom.wordpress.com/

    The real Italy, as seen from the heart

    The Satellite Show

    Pop Culture Clambake

    You're History!

    "History is a vast early warning system." Norman Cousins

    GrongarBlog

    Today's the day! The sun is shining, the tank is clean, and we're getting out of...

    THE POET BY DAY

    Poets, Poetry, News, Reviews, Readings, Resources & Opportunities for Poets and Writers

    JOSELYN'S BRAWL

    Two life-threatening diseases that lead to a bone marrow transplant and a snappy Buttkick List

    joeyfullystated

    Narrative of a Neurotic & Other Random Nonsense

    DevynStella

    A Thought, A Life, A Lady Enamor.

