Oh Well, It Will Have To Do.

Published December 7, 2013 by The Hip Grandmother

I have never been one for decorations in any holiday. Getting presents and wrapping them as quick as I can is the only way I see things…for the last decade of my life. Fortunately this year, with the baby on the way, I am starting to find the Christmas spirit and decided to buy a Christmas tree for my living room. As I was walking into the Christmas tree section of a local popular store, I noticed they were selling fake trees at a low cost. I decided that I had better snatch this tree up because they won’t last long at this price.

I brought my ‘good buy’ home and wasn’t too sure where I wanted to set it up. I chose the corner of the living room which would (in my own opinion) would bring this house together. After I made sure of the area that I decided to set my tree, my daughter turned the television on to “Sound of Music” musical. Trying to make heads or tails of which side is which to set the tree, I hear in the

Pipe Cleaners in the corner

Pipe Cleaners in the corner

background “Do Re Mi” in the background. Let me explain to you that I do not like musicals. I am very happy with “The Nightmare Before Christmas” or any other books and movies by Henry Selick and/or Tim Burton. But I can’t believe that I have grown so soft as to like….even remotely of “Sound of Music”. Its a classic, right? But so is “The Grinch”.

As I am pulling out these pipe-cleaning look-a-like branches from a thin box, I find the directions on how to set-up a christmas tree. “Need help? Do not call the store, go to our website” was in big red letters on the little pamphlet. “Man,” I muttered under my breath. “I can’t even get instructions when (and I will) mess up this pathetic tree?” I just shrugged my shoulders and continued on trying to figure out what branch goes where, standing it up to find another connecting part. Pretty soon I was able to connect the  bottom half of the tree with the little stand that the manufacturers supplied in the cardboard box. Standing in the corner, I couldn’t help but notice the top part of the tree was rather crooked. I tried and tried to straighten it out. The bottom half of the tree was straight, maybe a connecting part to the top was off kilter? No. I discovered that the whole stem of the tree shifted to the left.. Just my luck to buy a tree at such a low price only to have a malfunction… Oh well, it will have to do.

Next comes lights! I can do this! We have new ones from last year still in the box! This will be easier to set up on this tree! I remember when I was little and my father was in charge of getting the lights up on the tree, he would stretch them across the living room to see if they all work together. It reminded me of being on a stage (which I was accustomed to because of my dance recitals) so that is what I decided to do. Although it was a little tree that I had bought, the same memories of my father were appearing in my mind while I checked every bulb connection. Finally I was able to set them on the tree in windy-fashioned from the top branch to the base. As I finish my task, I realize that I started with the wrong plug. Now in my house, I am all for feminism, equal rights and what-not, but I didn’t know that it had to do with the ‘female’ plug on top and the ‘male’ on the bottom of the tree. I needed it to plug it in the socket that was next to where I had set the tree up. After I had the pain-staking task to remove all the lights off the tree and turn the ‘little gems’ back around so they will fit accordingly. After I finished doing this, I sat down on the couch, looked at my sorry little tree and threw up my hands. Oh well, it will have to do.

Now it was time to decorate…REAL decorating! I found a string of red beads to string along the tree. It wasn’t a very gaudy color

Christmas Tree 2013 at night

Christmas Tree 2013 at night

and  I thought it would look quite nice with the surrounding ornaments that dangled back and forth. I had also found a few momento ornaments from when I was young and what my daughter made for me when she was a child. I still have to get a few things to make it ‘my own’ christmas tree. I have to also put up my daughter’s Christmas stocking and my cat Shaddow’s Christmas stocking. Can’t forget about our furry family members! 🙂 As I look at my little Christmas tree, I think to myself “Oh well, it will have to do”.

Merry Christmas Everyone! 🙂

 

14 comments on “Oh Well, It Will Have To Do.

  • What I got from this article, and what I most enjoy about decorating my Christmas tree annually is; you found some memento’s from when you were young and your daughter was young. For me, at least, when I find those memento’s each year amongst my own Christmas paraphernalia, I have a little memory of when they (my children) were young (well little people) and how much love and enthusiasm was put into making that decoration at the time. They would come home from school as proud as punch of what they had conjured up, and what was. in their mind the perfect Christmas decoration, they would proudly place it on the tree for all and sundry to both see and praise. In hanging those “silly” decorations now I am left with memories of those times, how my life felt at that time…who was in it….what was happening around me….all sorts of things from a time and moment in my life.

    To me…that is the point of Christmas….remembering…those you are no longer with you, those who have grown in front of you and those who are no longer part of our life (and have left us better off for it!!)

    So while tediously pulling out all the Christmas bags and boxes yet again, arguing with a tree that just won’t listen and just won’t quite look like the grand illusion of a tree that is in your head!, Christmas is still by far one of my most favourite times of year for reflection. Reflection on what has gone before me and what lies ahead of me.

    Merry Christmas to all and I wish you a safe, happy, prosperous 2014.

  • I’m sitting here giggling at your comment about the male and female ends of the electric cord. When I was a teenager I was helping my dad in the garage with a project, and he asked me to hand him the “male” end of a cord. I said, “I never can remember which is which!”, to which my very calm dad answered, “Think about it a minute, Butch,” and as I turned beet red I handed him the pronged end of the cord! I haven’t confused them in 50 years! (And I think your tree is sweet.) – Fawn

  • I bought new LED lights for my tree this year. It was like rocket science trying to string them together because each end of the string has this weird cap you have to unscrew. In the end, I still had the “female” end at the bottom of the tree. What the crap! Go figure. Evidently, this is a universal struggle.

    • Yep! Why do they make it so complicated? It took me hours to figure out what I can do to make things more efficient. I was ALMOST thinking “Where is a man when you need them?” then I tackled it myself…. That thought quickly diminished! HA!

  • Leave a Reply

        Tribe of Travelers

    We Wander Together

    Buffalo Tom Peabody's blog 2

    The 9 Lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody, Gunther Tootie, Ignatius “IGGY” Rattlebottom-Bunn, Larry "Bubba" Flowers & Doodlesack. NO AWARDS. please.

    Logical Quotes

    There's a hip grandparent in all of us!

    Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

    However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

    Alice@97.3

    Alice Music for the San Francisco Bay Area

    CBS Denver

    Find Denver news, Colorado news, Colorado weather forecasts and sports reports including Denver Broncos at CBSDenver.com.

    CBS13 | CBS Sacramento

    News, Sports, Weather, Traffic and the Best of Sacramento

    CBS Chicago

    Chicago News, Sports, Weather, Traffic, and the Best of Chicago - CBS 2 TV | WBBM Newsradio 780 | 670 The Score

    CBS San Francisco

    News, Sports, Weather, Traffic and the Best of SF

    NBA.com | Hang Time Blog

    The official news blog of NBA.com with commentary and analysis from NBA.com's staff of writers.

    ultimatemindsettoday

    A great WordPress.com site

    terribleminds: chuck wendig

    Chuck Wendig: Freelance Penmonkey

    The Meat & Potatoes of Life

    By Lisa Smith Molinari

    Attila Ovari

    Loving Life and Inspiring Others

    CBS Chicago

    Chicago News, Sports, Weather, Traffic, and the Best of Chicago - CBS 2 TV | WBBM Newsradio 780 | 670 The Score

    Are You Finished Yet?

    There's a hip grandparent in all of us!

    Scribbles & Crumbs

    Hope. Kindness. Faith. Love

    Alice@97.3

    Alice Music for the San Francisco Bay Area

    CBS San Francisco

    News, Sports, Weather, Traffic and the Best of SF

    CBS13 | CBS Sacramento

    News, Sports, Weather, Traffic and the Best of Sacramento

    CBS Denver

    Find Denver news, Colorado news, Colorado weather forecasts and sports reports including Denver Broncos at CBSDenver.com.

    The Hip Grandmother

    There's a hip grandparent in all of us!

    By the Blood of the Lamb

    And they overcame him by the blood of the Lamb...

    The Research Whisperer

    Just like the Thesis Whisperer - but with more money

    News Top-Aktuell

    Wenn Sie Wahrheit zu schätzen wissen

    Dancing Aspens Farm Blog

    Finding the beauty along the way.

    INNER THOUGHTS

    INNER THOUGHTS

    Broken Pieces

    "Is not My Word like as a fire? saith the LORD; and like a hammer that breaketh the rock in pieces?" Jeremiah 23:29

    365 Days of Purpleness

    A little piece of purpleness to brighten every day!

    Thom Ingram

    Poet, Essayist, Contemplative, Teacher

    Fran Wilde

    ~ science fiction & fantasy ~

    three rows back

    because you can never watch too many movies

    The Tragic Life of Frank

    Around five minutes ago I had this sudden revelation; that my life is quite sufficiently, tragic.

    wherelemonsblossom.wordpress.com/

    The real Italy, as seen from the heart

    The Satellite Show

    Pop Culture Clambake

    You're History!

    "History is a vast early warning system." Norman Cousins

    GrongarBlog

    Today's the day! The sun is shining, the tank is clean, and we're getting out of...

    THE POET BY DAY

    Poets, Poetry, News, Reviews, Readings, Resources & Opportunities for Poets and Writers

    JOSELYN'S BRAWL

    Two rare, life-threatening diseases that led to a bone marrow transplant and a snappy Buttkick List

    joeyfullystated

    Narrative of a Neurotic & Other Random Nonsense

    DevynStella

    A Thought, A Life, A Lady Enamor.

